Army crowned League Champions

Army defeated Navy in the final of the Sri Lanka National Baseball League Championship as the final score read 7-5 in favor of the visitors. 

The tournament consisted of 8 teams and kicked off last November as selection for the West Asia Championship heats up. Army were the favorites heading into the final as their team consisted of a few Sri Lanka National players.

Staying true to the favorites tag, Army defeated fellow rivals Navy to claim the big prize. Army dominated the awards list as Thushara Wickramasinghe was the only name from the Navy outfit on the list.

Best Pitcher – Sugath De Silva (Army)
Best Fielder – Thushara Wickramasinghe (Navy)
Best Batter – Niroshan Sriyarathne (Army)
Player of the Match- Gayan Tharindu (Army)
Most Valuable Player – Gayan Tharindu (Army)
Army player Sameera Rathnayake poses with the Champions trophy following Army’s victory

This win breaks Navy’s dominance of the National Baseball League as the Sailor’s taste defeat after a 3-year period.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.