Air Force Baseball Club emerged victorious defeating the Royal Blues Baseball Club 12-11 in the closely contested the Grand Final of the Malinda Arumadura Memorial Baseball Trophy 2020.

Air Force Baseball Club were the favorites entering the encounter as they aimed to end the tournament unbeaten. Royal Blues meanwhile, had to take a more treacherous route to the final, having lost their first game to the DS Knights.

in expected fashion, Air Force lead the way 10-5 in the 4th innings as a much younger and inexperienced Royal Blues outfit found it tough to find their feet in the game.

The Blues felt their way back into the game and found themselves reducing the arrears to 2-points, trailing 10-8 at the end of the 7th innings.

The much experienced Air Force team held their nerve, as they managed to sneak in two-point to the Blues three-points, ending the 8th innings in the lead (12-11), taking the game and the Malinda Arumadura Trophy for the year 2020.

Kasun Kumara of Air Force won the Player of the Match award as fellow teammates Dinesh Weerasinghe and Sameera Sadaruwan were awarded the Best Fielder and Best Pitcher awards. Wathsalya Gamage of the Royal Blues won the Best Batter award and the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award.

  • Best Fielder Dinesh Weerasinghe – Air Force
  • Best Pitcher Sameera Sadaruwan – Air Force
  • Player of the Match Kasun Kumara – Air Force
  • Best Batter & Most Valuable Player (MVP) Wathsalya Gamage – Royal Blues